KSU Economic Development and Engagement Steering Committee Launched

KENNESAW, Ga. (Dec 2, 2021) — In summer 2021, the Kennesaw State University Office of Research welcomed  Tyler Reinagel as associate vice president of economic development. This hire, along with the realignment of KSU’s existing Office of Community Engagement, are a result of Kennesaw State’s effort to recommit itself to the economic vitality and community partnerships of Cobb County and the State of Georgia.

The Office of Economic Development and Community Engagement has already hit the ground running – meeting with chamber leaders throughout Metro Atlanta and Northwest Georgia to get a better understanding of community relationships with KSU, and where the University can be a more active partner in building the economic vitality of the region.

“This is an incredible opportunity for Kennesaw State to be a more integrated player in the economic growth and vitality of our region” said Reinagel. “KSU has experienced a great deal of growth and change in recent years, and this is an opportunity for us to recommit the University to being a constructure partner in building stronger, more mutually-beneficial relationships throughout Cobb County and the State of Georgia.”

To help launch this effort, a five-year “Economic Development and Community Engagement Strategic Plan” is being developed by KSU. This plan will be informed by on-campus stakeholders – including faculty, staff, and student representation – as well as off-campus community partners, representing the public, private, and non-profit sectors. This Strategic Plan Steering Committee will provide a sense of direction and purpose to the plan, identifying the priorities and focal points for the resulting plan, and offer insight on unique challenges and opportunities from their various roles in the community.  

This steering committee began the process in November 2021, and over the following eight months will meet regularly, with adoption and launch date of July 1, 2022 for the strategic plan.

Members of the Steering Committee include:

  • Name
  • Honorable Lisa Cupid 
    County Commission Chair, Cobb County, GA
  • Kevin Daniel
    Chief of Staff, Cobb County School District
  • Luke Howe 
    Economic Development Director, City of Kennesaw, GA
  • Dana Johnson
    COO, Cobb County Chamber of Commerce; Executive Director, SelectCobb
  • Nicole Lawson
    Northwest Regional Director, United Way of Greater Atlanta
  • Catherine Lewis
    Assistant VP, Museums, Archives, & Rare Books and Professor of History, Radow College of Humanities and Social Sciences, KSU
  • Amanda Long
    Director of Employer Relations and Career Outreach, KSU
  • Liz Martin
    Associate Professor of Architecture, College of Architecture and Construction Management, KSU
  • Monica Nandan
    Director of Strategic Partnership and Social Impact and Professor of Social Work and Human Service, Wellstar College of Health and Human Services, KSU
  • Annalise Oestreich
    KSU Student, Human Services Major
  • Michael Serkedakis
    Lecturer of Marketing and Professional Sales, Coles College of Business, KSU
  • Jeff Shropshire
    Senior Vice President, C.W. Matthews Contracting Co., Inc.
  • Tracy Styf 
    Executive Director, Town Center Community Improvement District
  • Macie Thompson
    Director of Foundation Relations, KSU Foundation
  • Shannon Tovey
    Associate Professor of Reading and Literacy Education, Bagwell College of Education, KSU
  • Cindy Williams
    CEO, Cartersville-Bartow Chamber